This event has ended. View the official site or create your own event → Check it out
This event has ended. Create your own
BEA2015      Highlights       Program       Awards       Convention FAQ       Exhibits, Advertising & Sponsorship       Registration & Housing

View analytic
Sunday, April 12 • 10:30am - 11:45am
Faculty and Student Documentary Awards and Exhibition

Sign up or log in to save this to your schedule and see who's attending!

This session honors the winners of the Faculty and Student Festival of Media Arts Documentary Competitions. Selected works of this year’s award recipients will be exhibited.

Faculty Competition Chair: Choonghee Han, Hope College
Student Competition Chair: Jes Therkelsen, California State University-Fresno

Faculty Documentary Competition

Short Form Video or Film Documentary
Best of Competition:       Sanjeev Chatterjee, University of Miami; On Cities III

Award of Excellence:       Thomas A. Nelson & Jason McMerty, Elon University; The Story of Marion Ellet

Award of Excellence:       Cory Byers & Ashley Seering, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville; Chainsaw Carving

Long Form Video or Film Documentary
Best of Competition:       Samuel E. Ebersole, Colorado State University - Pueblo; Art in the Elements

Award of Excellence:       Michael Whalen, Santa Clara University; The Farmer & the Chef

Student Documentary Competition
Short Form Video or Film Documentary
1st Place:                            Max Maddox, Asger Ladefoged, Jarod Taber & Ben Mitchell, San Francisco State University; Taxi 2.0

2nd Place:                          Richard Adams, Amber Bradford, Justin Carroll & Bung Nan, Middle Tennessee State University; Le Debut

3rd Place:                           Miriam Ward, Maxwell Reide, Steven Sirianni, Allaura Pagano & Alexandria Fontanez, SUNY New Paltz; The Superman Letters

4th Place:                           Hunter Brothers & Kristin Kohlmeyer, University of Oklahoma; Thirty

Honorary Mention:          Matthew J. Grcic, Loyola University Chicago; Discovering the truth with Tanner DeMita

Honorary Mention:          Vianka Villa, Edward Hernandez, Chris Smith, Aidan Cooney, Arizona State University; Garden City

Honorary Mention:          Brian Binder, Brian Mezerski & Amory Parks, Elon University; forte - documentary

Honorary Mention:          Kristen Hwang, Kassandra Gonzalez & Jacob Tibi, Arizona State University; Thicker Than Water

Honorary Mention:          Alex Glass, Dani Thompson, Alanna Delfino, Amanda Salvucci, Ben Susman, Shannon Clash, Kara Dixon, Steph Martinez & Taylor Lewis, University of Maryland; Viewfinder: Overcoming Obstacles

Honorary Mention:          Marley McDonald, Dan McNew, Abby Rigglemanc & Art Pekun, James Madison University; Won't Pipe Down

Honorary Mention:          Ryan Greene, Evan McGillivray, Brian Mezerski & Matthew Mintzer, Elon University; ELN: Behind the Scenes - Election

Honorary Mention:          Jacqueline Eaton & Djoeke Roorda, Mount Royal University; Theater on the Rails

Long Form Video or Film Documentary
1st Place:                            Stefica Nicol Bikes, The University of Technology, Sydney Australia; Dyeing China

2nd Place:                          Olivia Ash, Amanda Brasgalla & Taylor Lunka, Pacific Lutheran University; Waste Not: Breaking Down the Food Equation

3rd Place:                           Mauricio Casillas, Carolina Marquez & Cammeron Neely, Arizona State University; Until the Southern Border is Secure

4th Place:                           Diane Hodson & Jasmine Luoma, Wake Forest University; unmappable

Honorary Mention:          Alex Lancial, Arizona State University; Breaking the Spectrum

Honorary Mention:          Dustin Askim, Conor Ballantyne, Max Barnum, Eric Clements, Jess Field, Shane Gillette, Sergio Gonzalez, Keith McGlothlin, Hunter Meek, Matt Miller, Evan Rau & Lauren Robinson, University of Montana; Distracted: Eyes off the Road

Honorary Mention:          Tiffany King, University of Arkansas; Paws in Prison

Honorary Mention:          Scott Ramsey, Kisa Clark, University of Arkansas; Courageous Journey: The Story of Dr. Jocyelyn Elders

Honorary Mention:          Eric Juth, Michele Ferris-Dobles, Wake Forest University; Ghosts of Johnston County

Honorary Mention:          Kate Walker, University of Montana; The Missouri Compromised

Honorary Mention:          Erik Yde O'Brien, Laura Kattelman, University of Utah; Magna: An American Story

Honorary Mention:          Daniel Henkey, Alyssa Becker, University of Arkansas; Tapping the Ozarks: A Story About Beer

Sunday April 12, 2015 10:30am - 11:45am
Pavilion 9

Attendees (33)